Pilaf? I barely know you!

20121218-185918.jpg

I pen this post with a slightly burnt thumb from grabbing a pan right after I took it out of the oven. The good news is I will live. Thank you for your concern and sympathy cards.

To accompany the breaded pork chops, I decided to try a new technique for rice pilaf. Previous methods included rice-a-roni and a few feeble attempts the natural way.

A few weeks ago I caught an episode of Martha Stewart’s cooking tutorial on PBS. One of my Saturday past times is dozing off to cooking shows on a lazy Saturday afternoon. This episode was all about rice. Riveting!

The key takeaway was to rinse your rice before cooking. Armed with this lil tip, I tried pilaf again. Rinse the rice in a sieve/small strainer under cold water. Shake out the extra water (Florence and the machine style).

Sauté an onion in a little olive oil and butter. Once the onion becomes see-thru add in the rice and stir. Let the rice absorb the oil and flavor. Like the onion, wait for the rice to become translucent.

This should take a few minutes. Next I added water. You want to follow a 3:2 ratio of water to rice. So if you make a cup of rice dear students, how much water will you need?

I’ll wait. Carry the 2…

Cup and a half. I used brown rice and could’ve used a touch more liquid.

Slap on the lid and wait it out. It should be about 15-20 minutes. Toward the final minutes you can add in veggies. I added frozen peas and fresh carrots. After all the fluid has absorbed give it a stir, turn off the heat and put the lid on for another 10 minutes.

The one other tip is to use stock or broth instead of water. It’ll give tons more flavor.

You’ll excuse me. This bachelor has to go tell the world about his boo boo.

Leave a Reply

