Illegal tacos

20130109-224222.jpg

My affair with Mexican food will never cease.

A friend recently commented that I would win an award for the volume of photos I post of burritos. I humbly accept this fictitious award and plan on celebrating with another burrito.

At some point in the near future I’d like to make my own tortillas thereby qualifying me at the very least as a gringo.

Until then i’ll have to stick with store bought food delivery vessels.

In my ongoing quest to circumvent going to chipotle I again tinkered with my chipotle chicken marinade.

This iteration was:

3 chipotle peppers
Half a yellow onion
3 cloves of garlic
Handful of cilantro
Shake of cumin
Shake of chili powder
Salt/pepper
Teaspoon of brown sugar
Juice of one lime

I blitzed all that with some vegetable oil and water in my mini food processor, which forms a paste. I spread that over 3 pounds of bone in chicken thighs. Let it sit for 24 hours in the fridge before letting cook in the slow cooker on low for 4-5 hours.

The result…

Of course I made fresh guac.

There aren’t words.

Leave a Reply

