Go Focaccia Yourself

20130116-215933.jpg

I am a carb conneseiur. Blessed with the metabolism of a hummingbird and capuchin monkey, I can take down a box of pasta or bag ‘o bread without gaining weight. At some point this will likely catch up with me, but until then I shall continue gorging myself on carbs.

Tonight’s post-gym dinner consisted of a focaccia sandwich. I had leftover refried beans from last night that I spread on the toasted bottom half of the roll. Then I layered some thinly-sliced smoked ham and topped with sliced red pepper, gardinera and red onion. I had some mixed Italian cheeses that I sprinkled on top.

If the 2/3 a can of beans I ingested last night failed to give me an adequate daily value of fiber, the steamed broccoli with lemon juice tonight certainly will.

Steaming veggies is super easy and retains more of the nutrients than boiling. You’ll need a steamer insert for your pot. They are super cheap and worth it. Put a small amount of water in the pot then set the insert inside. The water shouldn’t rise above the bottom of the steamer insert. Then toss in your veggies and turn the heat on low. I steamed the broc for about 10 minutes. Poke the veggies with a fork or small knife. If they are tender you are good to go.

I love fresh lemon juice with broccoli but some fancy cheddar cheese.

The dinner took about 15 minutes to make and 15 seconds to post on all social media outlets. Total cost was probably $3.

I have half a focaccia left. Check back tomorrow for the work-from-home lunchtacular.

Leave a Reply

