Why I’ll Make a Great House Husband

20130117-214103.jpg
When I was shooting the video for the Daily Herald’s Cook of the Week, I was chatting with the photographer about my cooking. After seeing my skills in the kitchen he commented, you’re going to make some woman a great husband.

Apparently he hasn’t heard the stories of my dating woes.

Tonight’s dinner is part of my ongoing quest for culinary mastery of Latin flavors. I’d say flavor profiles but I find that phrase pretentious and irritating.

Working from home allowed me some time to prep and slow cook 4 chicken breasts. I added

pollo

1/4 red onion
1 green onion
Half a poblano pepper, roughly chopped
Handful baby Bella mushrooms
Tsp cumin
Tsp dried oregano
Splash of vegetable oil
Half a cup of water
S&P

Put on the lid then back to work.
When my work day was done I started creating a new rice side dish. I added the liquid from the cooked chicken instead of water for additional flavor.

rice

1 cup brown rice, rinsed
2 cups liquid from crockpot
Let that cook for about 15-20 minutes. Then add:
1 chipotle pepper, chopped
1 can black beans, rinsed
1 small can green chiles

Plate it up. I fried a corn tortilla for a crispy base. Then garnished with cilantro before photographing and sending to my harem.

20130117-215645.jpg

2 thoughts on “Why I’ll Make a Great House Husband

Leave a Reply

