Breakfast Showdown: Me vs. Ronald Q. McDonald

Veggies and bacon

I was recently informed that McDonald’s southwest breakfast wrap was no longer available for a buck. Years ago, my boss used to grab them and during her carb-free days would ask me if I wanted the tortilla. I will go on record as to never turning down a tortilla. Ever.

Much like a drug pusher I was warned about during D.A.R.E., she hooked me on the breakfast burrito. It served as a gateway food. In a mere hours I would have the itch for bigger, meatier burritos that were affectionately referred to as “productivity killers” in the office. And yes, I do realize I was begging for her unwanted scraps a la Oliver Twist.

It snowed this morning in Chicago. I had contemplated going into the office, even though I knew no breakfast burrito would be waiting for me. Then I looked out the window and saw a snow-covered car and snow-covered street. Frankly, it looked like far too much effort for a Friday. With that, I opted to work from home and that decision led to this delectable lunch.

Fixins

2 eggs

1-2 strips of bacon, chopped

1 chipotle pepper, chopped

1/4 cup diced green pepper

1/4 cup diced red pepper

1/4 cup diced red onion

A few chunks of pepper jack cheese

Salt/Pepper

Technique

First, cook the bacon in an omelette pan. The bacon will release its fat. After the bacon has cooked for a few minutes, toss in your veggies and chipotle pepper. Let these cook in the bacon fat, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes.

Crack two eggs in a bowl. Beat them quickly with a fork. I splashed in a little water for a lighter consistency.

Pour the eggs into the pan and start stirring them around with the bacon/chipotle/veggie mixture. Eggs cook hella quick. They should be done in 2-3 minutes. Once they are no longer runny, you’re good to go.

If you want to make this into an omellete, you’ll need to dump the bacon/veg mixture out and pour the egg in first, adding the veg back in. You’ll also need to scale back how many veggies you put on top of the eggs.

I heated a tortilla and scooped the spicy egg mixture into the burrito.

Take that Ronald.

550091_10100411976896815_1300588149_n

Leave a Reply

