Gringo’s Confessions

IMG_4927

The other night I was at a fancy shamancy dinner and was chatting about best meals to cook with a date. This conversation was with a man in his 50s who identified himself as a trophy husband, a career goal not too far from my own. He asserted that French cuisine was the best, since Italian and Mexican are common flavors. The last thing I want is my high-achieving future wife to think I’m common.

While some of my friends take Sunday Funday to be brunch and boozing, for me it means culinary project day. Eventually, I’ll start planning the week’s meals. Once that occurs I can truly become someone’s doting house husband.

Sunday night’s supper (a word I’m bringing back) involved homemade salsa verde and spice-rubbed chicken breasts. The result: best tacos I’ve had this year. Bonus for you, it’s hella simple. We will have to wait to see how successful it is as wife bait.

Salsa

2 poblano peppers

1 pound of tomatillos

1 lime (zest and juice)

3 cloves of garlic

Instrucciones por Salsa

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Preheat oven to 400 degrees of hotness. Wash the peppers and de-husk the tomatillos. Slice everything in half and place on the baking sheet. Roast them for 30 minutes. Then remove from the oven and let cool 15 minutes.

Toss the roasted peppers and toms into the blender or food processor with the zest and juice from one lime and blend until liquified. Put in a container and let it chill in the fridge.

Marinade

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp black pepper

Instrucciones por Pollo

While the salsa is chilling, put together the above marinade. You can either use chicken breast filets or butterfly chicken breasts yourself. I like my chicken like I like my women: white and thin. Dust the meat with the spice mixture and let it sit for 30 minutes. You can refrigerate it, but if you intend to cook it straight away you can leave it out. I did and lived to blog about it. I wouldn’t leave chicken out longer than that, unless you want to die/miss a day of work.

After the birds have rested for half an hour, it’s cookin’ time. I have a round grill pan by Circulon. It’s life changing. Heat the pan on med-low heat for about 10 minutes. This will get the pan evenly hot so you can sear the chicken and lock in all those spicy flavors. Add about a teaspoon of vegetable oil to the pan. Then swirl it around to evenly coat the pan.

Add the chicken. You should hear a distinctive sizzling sound. Leave it alone for 4-5 minutes. Then flip it and cook for another 5 minutes. Cut the heat and remove the chicken to a cutting board or plate to rest for 7-10 minutes.

Warm a tortilla or four. Then it’s an assembly job. Here’s the finished product.

Possibly best i've ever made.
Possibly best i’ve ever made.
Leave a Reply

