Wanna See My Sausage?

basil, sausage, zucchini, tomato, dinner, summer, mushroom
Opting to skip the gym last night, I spent my evening dirtying most of the pots I own reinterpreting the Italian classic: sausage and peppers.

I had hot Italian sausage from my favorite Italian deli. It would be an insult to my ancestors to let that go to waste. So, I surveyed the fridge and pantry pulling orzo, an onion, a poblano pepper, zucchini and some cherry tomatoes. That’s all it took for this weeknight masterpiece.

If you’ve been following along with the other recipes, this dish shouldn’t pose any real obstacles difficulty-wise. Breading the zucchini is similar to breaded chicken or pork. Beat an egg in a bowl, then dip the zuke fries in the egg before shaking them in a baggie filled with breadcrumbs. I cooked the fries in my cast iron skillet which had been heating up in a 350 degree oven. Cook the fries for 15 minutes. Shaking the skillet occasionally. If you don’t have a skillet you can use a regular baking sheet.

zucchini, dnner, summer, fries

Bachelor tip: Add Parmesan or shredded cheese to the breadcrumbs for more flavor.

basil, sausage, zucchini, tomato, dinner, summer, mushroom, bachelor

Then the rest of the dish is making orzo (just like pasta) and sautéing the sausage and veggies. I used poblano peppers instead of green peppers. Then, added sliced mushrooms and halved cherry tomatoes after the sausage had been cooking for 15 minutes.

To plate it up, I spooned in the orzo/sausage mix then topped with fresh tomatoes, baked zucchini fries and leaves of basil.



Leave a Reply

