All Hail! Kale

20131118-211102.jpg

Seldom do I tout the nutritional benefits of cooking at home or the dishes I post on here. For the most part, this site is geared toward showing how easy it is to cook for yourself.

Occasionally, I’ll share something I learned, like the protein content in quinoa.

Tonight’s tidbit is about kale. I bought some earlier this summer and it has found its way into my basket each time I go to the grocery. It’s relatively inexpensive, depending where you shop. Hit up your local produce spot. It should be about $1/lb.

WebMD, the official first person to tell you that cough is a rare, fatal cancer, elaborated on the nutritional benefits:

One cup of chopped kale contains 33 calories and 9% of the daily value of calcium, 206% of vitamin A, 134% of vitamin C, and a whopping 684% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

And don’t forget fiber. Be sure to rip out the center spine, unless you want to spend the next day praying to all the known gods.

Tonight’s side dish, which I could easily convert into my entire dinner, started with frying up 2 strips of bacon. Remember when I told you kale was healthy? Let’s see If it can combat the fat.

Fry the bacon. Then toss in chopped green pepper and chopped mushrooms. Then, the rinsed kale. Salt & pepper. I added a stem of thyme.

Toss.

Done.

2 thoughts on “All Hail! Kale

Leave a Reply

