How to Woo Women with Cookies

cookie, baking, christmas, holiday, biscotti, oatmeal, raisin

Firstly, this bachelor doesn’t like baking. But I do love this.

I’ve found there is a distinction between people who like to cook and people who like to bake. Some culinary-leaners, like myself, love the freedom and ability to improvise a dinner out of assorted ingredients. Bakers tend to prefer exactitude and following a recipe. There is still the possibility to improvise desserts, but I find the limitations too strict. That, or I just don’t bake often enough to know substitutions. Ratios need to be precise. I don’t care for exactitude, unless it involves money.

I will gladly help someone else who is baking, but I’ll seldom take it upon myself to make cookies or a cake. This may come as a shock to some of you. Are you sitting down? I’m not a huge fan of sweets. I said it. Can’t take it back. It’s a rare occurrence when I finish my birthday cake.

I digress. It’s Christmas time, which means time to help your fellow man or woman. In my case, I’m assisting my mom as she pulls recipe card after recipe card for every cookie and bar.

Below is the recipe for Oatmeal Raisin cookies. They are pretty simple to make and don’t involve a ton of measuring–my nemesis.

Quaker Oats Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Preheat oven to 375.

2 1/2 sticks butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 cups oatmeal
1 1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
1/2 cup chocolate chips (mandatory)

How-to woo women with cookies:

  1. Beat butter & sugars until creamy.
  2. Add egg and vanilla. Beat more.
  3. Add combo of flour, baking soda, salt and spices. Mix.
  4. Stir in oats, nuts and chocolate.
  5. Scoop out cookies onto a cookie sheet. Invest in parchment paper. Women will think you have your shit together because you own parchment paper. Well worth the $4. AND the cookies won’t stick to the sheet, so you won’t have to buy new cookie sheets because you don’t feel like cleaning off burnt cookie.
  6. Depending on the size of cookie, cooking time will vary. I used a big ice cream scooper for MONGO cookies. They took about 12 minutes to cook at 375 degrees. If you make BIG cookies, be sure to mash them flat, otherwise they won’t cook evenly. And if they don’t cook evenly, no one will love you and you’ll die alone.

I await your calls, letters, telegrams, tweets and sky-written messages detailing your love (or lust) for me. I don’t even care if you only want me to cook/bake for you. #househusband in 2014

quaker oats, cookie, christmas, baking

One thought on “How to Woo Women with Cookies

Leave a Reply

