Sopa de Elote Dip Recipe | Bacon Takedown Showdown

It isn’t every day your food is featured in Thrillist for Best Bacon dishes.

I have a love/hate relationship with cooking competitions. I swear them off, but not long after I get the invite, I am signed up and scouring recipes for inspiration.

The latest was the fifth annual bacon takedown. I eat bacon once or twice a year, so I’m by no means a connoisseur. Cycling through dishes I’ve perfected that include bacon, I considered stuffin muffins and carbonara. The first is ingredient and labor intensive. The latter has poor reheat value. After vetoing these dishes I started questioning why I signed up.

Then I got my idea: Mexican corn.

I started it as a chowder soup. Serving soup samples is tedious. Know what isn’t? Making it a dip.

Of course you made something with tortilla chips.

The addictive element of competitions is you get instant feedback from people who aren’t your family or friends. They have no obligation to say your food is good. And they definitely don’t have to come back four times for another taste.

The good news: everyone seemed to love the dip.

The bad news: I didn’t win. Always a bridesmaid…

It may not be an award-winner in Chicago, but it’ll be a fan favorite in your house. My loss is your victory. Here’s how you can make a phenomenal sopa de elote for your next football game or cold day that needs some spice.

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound bacon, diced
  • 3 ears corn
  • 2 poblano peppers
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
  • 2 Tablespoons ground chile de arbol peppers
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 4 Tablespoons of flour
  • 4 cups milk
  • 4 cups vegetable stock
  • 1/4 to 1/2 pound Monterey Jack
  • 3-4 Tablespoons of sour cream
  • lime juice
  • cilantro

Process:

  1. Roast ears of corn and poblanos. I roasted mine in a 350 degree oven for 30-40 minutes. Turning after 20 minutes.
  2. Saute bacon.
  3. Remove bacon and place on paper towel.
  4. Add onion, roasted poblano peppers and roasted corn.
  5. Saute for 4-5 minutes.
  6. Add garlic.
  7. Dust with chile de arbol powder. Stir. Don’t inhale. The chile powder may make you sneezy.
  8. Add flour. Stir and cook for 1-2 minutes.
  9. Add milk. Stir for 4-5 minutes.
  10. Add vegetable stock. Stir.
  11. Cook over low-medium heat for 45 minutes.
  12. Add cheese and sour cream at the end.
  13. Garnish with fresh lime juice and cilantro.
Leave a Reply

