Big spoon pork stir-fry recipe and tips

There are few things I eat with the big spoon. Tonight’s dish is one of those supreme dishes.

I’ve been craving good Chinese food for years. There’s a huge leap between passable Chinese food and that really good spot you’ve been going to for years. I have yet to find that spot, so I have one option: do it myself.

Last week I made a batch of shrimp and bacon egg rolls that were promptly documented and inhaled. Inspired by that recipe, I revisited stir fry at home. The trick is to have ingredients already made so it’s simply a matter of combining the ingredients. I managed to cut and fry all this up in less than 20 minutes.

What I had:
Cooked pork roast
Cooked Basmati rice
Celery
Mushrooms
Garlic
Bean sprouts
Cabbage cole slaw mix

Most of these ingredients were leftovers from the egg rolls. Here’s the secret to great stir fry: peanut butter.

Thank me now and thank me afterwards UNLESS you are allergic to peanuts.

Start with heating a pan and adding vegetable oil. Add a tablespoon of peanut butter. Once those have melted together start adding in chopped veggies and meat. If you are vegetarian, a policy I don’t support, this dish can still work for you. Sauté the veggies in the peanut sauce, chopping and adding more. Don’t let the peanut butter/veggie mix get too dark, that means the heat is too high and you’ve burnt your potential masterpiece. Since the meat was already cooked, my sequence was veggies, meat, garlic, Chinese five spice, rice, soy sauce.

Experiment with this and share your veggie combos.

Leave a Reply

